The Session

John Sibley  Clerk

The Session is the governing body of the church. Twelve members of the congregation serve on Session, each for a three year term – they are called Ruling Elders. The group meets on the 4th Tuesday of each month and holds special meetings as needed.

The Session oversees the work of the three church Commissions (the Commission for Evangelism & Outreach, the Commission for Member Enrichment and the Commission for Administration and Operations) the Board of Deacons, and all related Ministry Teams. Session also adopts the annual budget and personnel and operating policies. Additionally, it meets with new members and the confirmation classes.

Ruling Elders

Class of 2019 Class of 2020 Class of 2021
Jim Kneessi
Sarah Sams
Jan Williams
Emily Webb
Jim Clark
Cliff Gibbs
Tina Johnson
John Sibley
Stan Bahorek
Meris Longmeier
Tim McCoy
Matthew Vetter

Board of Deacons

Wes Boomgaarden  President

The Board of Deacons consists of fifteen members serving three year terms, each assigned a neighborhood network.  They meet on the 2nd Tuesday of each month. The work of a deacon is intended to be an extension of the pastors’ work. Deacons promote personal contact among church members by means of neighborhood networks. These are groups of members from the same geographical area assigned to a deacon who will keep in touch with them. Deacons try to share in members’ joys, sorrows, and any needs that arise which can benefit from some church outreach. Our Board of Deacons are visible in many ways in the life of Overbrook Church.

Ways We Serve:

  • Deacon Outreach – calls, cards, home and hospital visits
  • Communion preparation
  • Homebound Members
    • distributing Communion
    • visiting to deliver Easter and Christmas flowers
  • Casserole Ministry
  • Support church-wide projects
  • Hosting receptions
Copyright 2019 | Member congregation of the Presbyterian Church (USA)